Southwark Cathedral Society of Bellringers

Established 1911,   Reconstituted 1952 & 1977

President: The Dean, The Very Rev’d Andrew Nunn

The National 12 Bell Striking Contest

The band at Amersham in 2005
The band at Amersham in 2005

Southwark has entered the National 12 Bell Striking Contest ten times, reaching the final for the first time in 2006. Our results have been as follows:

2008EliminatorCheltenham4th71%Lincolnshire Maximus
2007EliminatorSaffron Walden5th73%Cambridge Maximus
2006FinalWorcester7th64%Stedman Cinques
2006EliminatorSouthwark3rd88%Stedman Cinques
2005EliminatorAmersham7th65%Cambridge Maximus
2004EliminatorEvesham7th54%Cambridge Maximus
2001EliminatorReading6th193 faultsStedman Cinques
2000EliminatorTowcester6th *67%Cambridge Maximus
1999EliminatorSouthwark4th71%Erin Cinques
1998EliminatorLeicester, St Margaret5th212 faultsCambridge Maximus
1997EliminatorSolihull7th33%Stedman Cinques
1996EliminatorLeicester Cathedral 3rd184 faultsYorkshire Maximus
* Although the Southwark band rang well enough to be placed 5th, we were penalised for a late start. Comparing the Chief Judge’s watch with the tower clock after the adjudication, it was established that the delay was only 12 seconds.

It's an Uphill Struggle
“It's an Uphill Struggle” - The squad at Solihull in 1997

The Tewksbury Shield

Tewksbury Abbey

The Society has entered the Tewksbury Shield competition three times and won twice.

2002joint 5thLondon (no. 3) S Royal
20011st38 faultsGrandsire Caters
19991st83%Grandsire Caters

The band in 2002
The band in 2002.

The winning band in 1999
The winning band in 1999, Michael Uphill holding the trophy.